Author Topic: Hi I'm Eschirm.  (Read 4748 times)

eschirm

• Miniature Nerd Terrier
  • Level 1: Bizz
    • View Profile
Hi I'm Eschirm.
« on: June 07, 2019, 10:08:28 PM »
I don't really have much to say about me - I'm fairly new to coding and learning it on my own, so awesome resources like this are really helping turn my long-held game-making daydreams into a feasible reality. Thank you!  :)
audio_play_sound(snd_bark, 1, true);

CGM

• Christian, 3D artist, former Platform Builder gamdev
  • Master Builder
    • View Profile
Re: Hi I'm Eschirm.
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2019, 10:16:08 PM »
Hey! I know how you feel! Platform Builder doesn't really have code. But it does give you basics and a few definitions. It's somewhere between a spoken language, and code. Anyway, we're glad to have you! Why not share your project idea, and make a suggestion or two? I already introduced myself in the bug report, but Welcome to the Platform Builder forums! Also, are you planning to be active here?

Gizgord

• average
  • Level 18: Statix
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2019, 05:53:24 PM »
hey eschirm, we're glad to have you here. :)

eschirm

• Miniature Nerd Terrier
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2019, 08:59:45 PM »
Thanks for the welcome! I probably won't be the most active of users but I'll definitely try to visit the forum whenever I get a chance. :)

It's just a hobby, but I've been working on a platform game where you go around as a ghost possessing different characters. I had originally started from scratch in gamemaker and had a decent engine going - basic controls, tile collisions, possessing characters and stuff - but as it got more complicated I realized I was spending pretty much all my time going back to reconfigure parts of the code that I should have organized better from the start.