Platform Builder Forums

Help and Support => Report a Bug or Glitch => Topic started by: Alley on June 09, 2020, 07:59:52 PM

Title: Adding sound via Command Prompt causes an error
Post by: Alley on June 09, 2020, 07:59:52 PM
Adding a new sound from a Sound Manager got via Command Prompt causes a fatal error. The error is as following:

Quote
___________________________________________
############################################################################################
FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Alarm Event for alarm 1
for object obj_m_selection:

STRING argument is unset
############################################################################################
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
called from - gml_Object_obj_m_selection_Alarm_1 (line 1072)
Title: Re: Adding sound via Command Prompt causes an error
Post by: TingThing on June 13, 2020, 02:26:24 AM
I don't understand. What were you doing when this error happened?
Title: Re: Adding sound via Command Prompt causes an error
Post by: warrior on June 13, 2020, 08:16:49 AM
I don't understand. What were you doing when this error happened?
He imported a new sound, and it crashed.
Title: Re: Adding sound via Command Prompt causes an error
Post by: Alley on June 13, 2020, 02:43:24 PM
Warrior555 understood me properly. :) But ask again when you still don't imagine about how I caused an error!
Title: Re: Adding sound via Command Prompt causes an error
Post by: TingThing on June 13, 2020, 09:39:27 PM
Does this happen every time on your end? I am not seeing this error happen when I try importing sound effects.
Title: Re: Adding sound via Command Prompt causes an error
Post by: Alley on June 13, 2020, 10:40:53 PM
Yes, it happens every time on my end but only if going to Manager by entering to Command Prompt field first. Then I click on "Managers" and choose "Sound Manager". Adding new ends with an error.
Title: Re: Adding sound via Command Prompt causes an error
Post by: TingThing on June 14, 2020, 03:01:12 AM
Okay, there are some issues with adding things that way already. Try it again after I update and see if you still have the issue.
Title: Re: Adding sound via Command Prompt causes an error
Post by: Alley on June 14, 2020, 01:58:50 PM
Still getting an error this way. :-\ I hope it's again not in just my PC.  ???
Title: Re: Adding sound via Command Prompt causes an error
Post by: TingThing on June 21, 2020, 02:37:45 PM
Could you send me your game file and a video showing the error show up?
Title: Re: Adding sound via Command Prompt causes an error
Post by: Alley on June 22, 2020, 09:11:53 AM
It soon holidays and my wood for winter have arrived. So I need to start work soon. I'll try to help you with this here when I have done a physical job outside considering you are going to fix bugs anyway even after that you release the next update. ::)
Title: Re: Adding sound via Command Prompt causes an error
Post by: TingThing on June 23, 2020, 10:32:46 PM
Okay. Keep me posted.
Title: Re: Adding sound via Command Prompt causes an error
Post by: warrior on June 24, 2020, 08:29:46 AM
It soon holidays and my wood for winter have arrived.
But winter is in 6 months
Title: Re: Adding sound via Command Prompt causes an error
Post by: Christian Game Maker (CGM) on June 24, 2020, 05:12:50 PM
Yeah, Winter does start in about 6 months, but you have to take into account that we live in diverse parts of the world.
Title: Re: Adding sound via Command Prompt causes an error
Post by: warrior on June 24, 2020, 06:24:37 PM
Yeah, Winter does start in about 6 months, but you have to take into account that we live in diverse parts of the world.
I will take this into account for holidays by adding Estonia to the list of possible Santa hideout's.
Title: Re: Adding sound via Command Prompt causes an error
Post by: Christian Game Maker (CGM) on June 24, 2020, 10:21:10 PM
Sounds like a plan. XD
Title: Re: Adding sound via Command Prompt causes an error
Post by: Alley on June 25, 2020, 10:40:54 PM
Here (https://www.dropbox.com/s/sfxolt46toqqx1b/Slot6.zip?dl=0) is a link to a game file and below you can see about how I can reach to the problem as requested.




It's summer right now and very hot by the way. ::) However, it is too late to buy wood for having warm when I already need it. Also, I have a supply but I am going to use it when it is going to be cold again... Wood needs to get dry also after that it was cut and prepared which takes time. Alternatively, people can buy dry wood but it is much more expensive. I am not the only one who starts to buy wood before actually needing it and besides that, I even subscribe to my wood officially too late. People say it is cheaper to start in spring but it is much easier for me to work in summer. :)
Title: Re: Adding sound via Command Prompt causes an error
Post by: TingThing on July 05, 2020, 09:25:14 PM
Got it, thanks for that, that helps!


I'll get this fixed.