Platform Builder Forums

Help and Support => Working with Platform Builder => Topic started by: NinthNei on July 22, 2021, 08:47:41 AM

Title: Error Message and Crash when Changing Area
Post by: NinthNei on July 22, 2021, 08:47:41 AM
I get this error display and the the game has to be aborted when changing area:

(https://i.ibb.co/k1P2YqM/image.png) (https://imgbb.com/)

I get this when using an Invisible Cmd block with these command prompt: area = 2,2

Also it happens when I use a standard door block and set up a Spawn Point too.

Has anyone else experienced this and anyone know of a fix.

I am using custom sprites for the character too if that has any bearing on this.
Title: Re: Error Message and Crash when Changing Area
Post by: Antikore on July 22, 2021, 11:48:33 AM
I get this error display and the the game has to be aborted when changing area:

(https://i.ibb.co/k1P2YqM/image.png) (https://imgbb.com/)

I get this when using an Invisible Cmd block with these command prompt: area = 2,2

Also it happens when I use a standard door block and set up a Spawn Point too.

Has anyone else experienced this and anyone know of a fix.

I am using custom sprites for the character too if that has any bearing on this.
Mmm, I recommend you to post these reports on the report bugs and glitches forum

As far as I know, never seen that error
There are a few chances that the issue is in how the command is expressed

Let's say
change area 2, 2

Also, what do you mean with "and set up a Spawn Point too"? It's on using the door or when you're editing the level? If it's the latter, then I'm pretty issue its PB issue.

Anyways, it's strange for me to not have seen any, my game uses A LOT of area changing, so its kinda weird
Title: Re: Error Message and Crash when Changing Area
Post by: NinthNei on July 22, 2021, 12:45:30 PM
I found the cause of the issue - it seems when the character has a 'pick up' item such as a gun or melee weapon on them and uses an event that relocates them like a door or a move command prompt.

So, after my level is finished I made an event to cause the player to drop the gun so that it loads the next area without errors.

I think it has some issues to do with displaying the HUD, not sure.

But I have found a reasonable workout around, for now...
Title: Re: Error Message and Crash when Changing Area
Post by: Antikore on July 23, 2021, 07:00:03 AM
I found the cause of the issue - it seems when the character has a 'pick up' item such as a gun or melee weapon on them and uses an event that relocates them like a door or a move command prompt.

So, after my level is finished I made an event to cause the player to drop the gun so that it loads the next area without errors.

I think it has some issues to do with displaying the HUD, not sure.

But I have found a reasonable workout around, for now...

That's interesting... @TingThing should fix this soon
Title: Re: Error Message and Crash when Changing Area
Post by: TingThing on July 25, 2021, 12:07:24 AM
Thanks for this, and for that extra information about the error. It would have been difficult for me without that.


Looks like when you have a custom pick up item which uses a custom sprite, and that item is in your inventory, the error happens when you change rooms.


I'm glad you found a workaround. Still, I'll make sure that error is resolved with the next update.
Title: Re: Error Message and Crash when Changing Area
Post by: NinthNei on July 25, 2021, 07:12:39 AM
Thanks for this, and for that extra information about the error. It would have been difficult for me without that.


Looks like when you have a custom pick up item which uses a custom sprite, and that item is in your inventory, the error happens when you change rooms.


I'm glad you found a workaround. Still, I'll make sure that error is resolved with the next update.

Thank you, that will be great! I am very new to the program but I have to say I love it so far.