Author Topic: For some reason after a time without checking my game, now jump is very high  (Read 516 times)

Antikore

  • Developing Mortal Theater at day, developing depression at night.
  • Level 21: Magmus
  • *
  • Posts: 1983
  • Total likes: 163
  • Enjoying Platform Builder from the very start
    • View Profile
    • PBuilder Resources
My jump is like x2 times higher, but looks like physics aren't changed, so Idk what's happening  ???
Sorry because my English is not very good because I'm Spanish ;) :P

Gizgord

maybe you turned on 'Jump Higher' property or Super Jump? pretty far out there but wouldn't hurt to check

Antikore

  • Developing Mortal Theater at day, developing depression at night.
  • Level 21: Magmus
  • *
  • Posts: 1983
  • Total likes: 163
  • Enjoying Platform Builder from the very start
    • View Profile
    • PBuilder Resources
maybe you turned on 'Jump Higher' property or Super Jump? pretty far out there but wouldn't hurt to check
I will check, lol

Not seems to be, but may be some command that is doing weird stuff
« Last Edit: July 25, 2021, 02:18:37 PM by Antikore »
Sorry because my English is not very good because I'm Spanish ;) :P

TingThing

  • Admin and Developer
  • Level 20: Nobom
  • *
  • Posts: 1373
  • Total likes: 217
  • Creator and Developer of Platform Builder
    • View Profile
    • Platform Builder Home
I don't know what would cause this, but I'm thinking it might be something funky with your commands. Don't forget to check area gravity and jump delay settings too.

Antikore

  • Developing Mortal Theater at day, developing depression at night.
  • Level 21: Magmus
  • *
  • Posts: 1983
  • Total likes: 163
  • Enjoying Platform Builder from the very start
    • View Profile
    • PBuilder Resources
I don't know what would cause this, but I'm thinking it might be something funky with your commands. Don't forget to check area gravity and jump delay settings too.
Yes, but I found out, in the exe doesn't happens, nor when playtesting an area, it only occurs when I'm testing the full game from PB itself I think so I'm not sure
« Last Edit: August 01, 2021, 08:05:34 AM by Antikore »
Sorry because my English is not very good because I'm Spanish ;) :P

TingThing

  • Admin and Developer
  • Level 20: Nobom
  • *
  • Posts: 1373
  • Total likes: 217
  • Creator and Developer of Platform Builder
    • View Profile
    • Platform Builder Home
Interesting. In that case it might be on PB's side. If you send the game to me I can take a closer look.

Antikore

  • Developing Mortal Theater at day, developing depression at night.
  • Level 21: Magmus
  • *
  • Posts: 1983
  • Total likes: 163
  • Enjoying Platform Builder from the very start
    • View Profile
    • PBuilder Resources
Interesting. In that case it might be on PB's side. If you send the game to me I can take a closer look.
Yes, I'll do it later today
Sorry because my English is not very good because I'm Spanish ;) :P

Antikore

  • Developing Mortal Theater at day, developing depression at night.
  • Level 21: Magmus
  • *
  • Posts: 1983
  • Total likes: 163
  • Enjoying Platform Builder from the very start
    • View Profile
    • PBuilder Resources
For some reason, when I play from the menu, the jump self-sets to 120 with no aparent reason
Sorry because my English is not very good because I'm Spanish ;) :P

Antikore

  • Developing Mortal Theater at day, developing depression at night.
  • Level 21: Magmus
  • *
  • Posts: 1983
  • Total likes: 163
  • Enjoying Platform Builder from the very start
    • View Profile
    • PBuilder Resources
Now in exes it gets like 105 of jump height
Sorry because my English is not very good because I'm Spanish ;) :P

Antikore

  • Developing Mortal Theater at day, developing depression at night.
  • Level 21: Magmus
  • *
  • Posts: 1983
  • Total likes: 163
  • Enjoying Platform Builder from the very start
    • View Profile
    • PBuilder Resources
It was getting higher and higher so I just checked local appdata folder and removed all folders inside gameplay, and jump returned to its normal.

Temporary solution for anyone having this same issue
Sorry because my English is not very good because I'm Spanish ;) :P

Antikore

  • Developing Mortal Theater at day, developing depression at night.
  • Level 21: Magmus
  • *
  • Posts: 1983
  • Total likes: 163
  • Enjoying Platform Builder from the very start
    • View Profile
    • PBuilder Resources
Re: For some reason after a time without checking my game, now jump is very high
« Reply #10 on: September 04, 2021, 12:42:17 PM »
It was getting higher and higher so I just checked local appdata folder and removed all folders inside gameplay, and jump returned to its normal.

Temporary solution for anyone having this same issue
Trying to replicate this solution onto the exported game will make it unplayable
Sorry because my English is not very good because I'm Spanish ;) :P

TingThing

  • Admin and Developer
  • Level 20: Nobom
  • *
  • Posts: 1373
  • Total likes: 217
  • Creator and Developer of Platform Builder
    • View Profile
    • Platform Builder Home
Re: For some reason after a time without checking my game, now jump is very high
« Reply #11 on: September 05, 2021, 03:01:24 PM »
I think I found the issue.


Your "Grass Entrance" area (area 13) triggers timeline 2 which does your initial variables for the area. In that timeline, you have the following commands:


Code: [Select]
//FIXER FOR VARIABLES
if testing = true
     timeline = 23


Timeline 23 sets your jump power to its proper setting. Without it, your character will load its current jump power from the last time the game saved. For some reason, your files for that game have the character jump power saved to a higher value than what you want. When you're doing a test run of your game, that jump power is overwritten by timeline 23. But when actually playing the game, timeline 23 is skipped because if your conditional "if testing = true".


When you sent your game over to me, that doesn't include gameplay data. So instead it loaded the default jump value which is lower. That's why I couldn't spot the issue at first.


I'm guessing the gameplay is progressively saving your standard jump power higher because of item 68 and item 75 which slightly increases the standard jump power.
« Last Edit: September 05, 2021, 03:02:18 PM by TingThing »

Antikore

  • Developing Mortal Theater at day, developing depression at night.
  • Level 21: Magmus
  • *
  • Posts: 1983
  • Total likes: 163
  • Enjoying Platform Builder from the very start
    • View Profile
    • PBuilder Resources
Re: For some reason after a time without checking my game, now jump is very high
« Reply #12 on: September 06, 2021, 11:35:55 AM »
Wow, that looks like a complex reasoning, but that might be the issue. It's fixable?
Sorry because my English is not very good because I'm Spanish ;) :P

TingThing

  • Admin and Developer
  • Level 20: Nobom
  • *
  • Posts: 1373
  • Total likes: 217
  • Creator and Developer of Platform Builder
    • View Profile
    • Platform Builder Home
Re: For some reason after a time without checking my game, now jump is very high
« Reply #13 on: September 12, 2021, 01:01:14 AM »

It's not an issue on Platform Builder's end. You'll have to figure that out in your game's commands.

The simple fix is to remove "if testing = true" in area 13 "Grass Entrance" and any other relevant areas, so that timeline 23 is run every time. But I'm guessing that would mess up your game in other ways. So you might just have to rearrange your commands somehow. Just as long as the jump power is set to the value you want every time you start/load your game.