Author Topic: Platform Builder 6.1  (Read 5129 times)

TingThing

  • Admin and Developer
  • Level 20: Nobom
  • *
  • Posts: 1395
  • Creator and Developer of Platform Builder
    • View Profile
    • Platform Builder Home
Re: Platform Builder 6.1
« Reply #15 on: October 06, 2018, 09:35:56 PM »

2.- The looping command prompt is very demanding to my computer and will slow the game with only 2 conditionals and 3 commands.



I can improve the performance a little bit, but I'd be curious to know what sort of commands you are running in there. If you are changing the character or the character design, that will slow down your game greatly. Those command by far take the most processing power.

TingThing

  • Admin and Developer
  • Level 20: Nobom
  • *
  • Posts: 1395
  • Creator and Developer of Platform Builder
    • View Profile
    • Platform Builder Home
Re: Platform Builder 6.1
« Reply #16 on: October 06, 2018, 09:46:50 PM »
I just put out the first patch on Steam. It will be ready for GameJolt and elsewhere shortly.

Antikore

  • Developing Mortal Theater at day, developing depression at night.
  • Level 22: Trex
  • *
  • Posts: 2020
  • Enjoying Platform Builder from the very start
    • View Profile
    • PBuilder Resources
Re: Platform Builder 6.1
« Reply #17 on: October 07, 2018, 09:08:08 AM »
Good to know it.
Sorry because my English is not very good because I'm Spanish ;) :P

Antikore

  • Developing Mortal Theater at day, developing depression at night.
  • Level 22: Trex
  • *
  • Posts: 2020
  • Enjoying Platform Builder from the very start
    • View Profile
    • PBuilder Resources
Re: Platform Builder 6.1
« Reply #18 on: October 07, 2018, 09:16:10 AM »

I can improve the performance a little bit, but I'd be curious to know what sort of commands you are running in there. If you are changing the character or the character design, that will slow down your game greatly. Those command by far take the most processing power.
Yes, I was using the designer commands, but they are used for when the player is health = 1, I think that is strange that it absorbs power even with a conditional.
« Last Edit: October 07, 2018, 09:16:27 AM by Antikore »
Sorry because my English is not very good because I'm Spanish ;) :P

TingThing

  • Admin and Developer
  • Level 20: Nobom
  • *
  • Posts: 1395
  • Creator and Developer of Platform Builder
    • View Profile
    • Platform Builder Home
Re: Platform Builder 6.1
« Reply #19 on: October 07, 2018, 06:42:23 PM »
Yes, I was using the designer commands, but they are used for when the player is health = 1, I think that is strange that it absorbs power even with a conditional.


If the conditional is false, then it shouldn't absorb energy. But if the player health is 1, the conditional will always be true. You could try this:


Code: [Select]
if health = 1 & designer != 3
designer = 3
« Last Edit: October 07, 2018, 06:43:00 PM by TingThing »

CGM

  • Christian, 3D artist, former Platform Builder gamdev
  • Master Builder
  • *
  • Posts: 3836
    • View Profile
Re: Platform Builder 6.1
« Reply #20 on: October 07, 2018, 07:15:37 PM »
I think I'm finally learning the conditionals.